Preparing for Lent

Posted: February 6, 2013 in Liturgical Year
Tags: , , ,

'Fasting' doesn't mean eating fast food!

Lent is nearly upon us, only one week away. It is a period of 40 days, to prepare ourselves for the pinnacle of the liturgical year- the Resurrection, when Christ overcame death on the Cross offer us salvation. Pretty amazing as far as pinnacles go…

If I am being honest with myself, there are some years where I have really looked forward to the hope and joy of the Resurrection, and there have been other years where, as Easter Sunday drew closer, I realised that I was not ready to celebrate this great day because I was unprepared. This was  perhaps the year where I decided what to give up for Lent whist eating pancakes, or the year I decided what to give up based on my new diet regime, or the year I decided to do something extra… which never materialised.

So, this year, I am carefully planning my Lenten preparations, to avoid any snap Ash Wednesday decisions!

A great way to prepare for Lent is to read Pope Benedict’s Lent 2013 message, which can be found here.

Also, I came across an Our Sunday Visitor video, in which Fr Jim Shafer suggests a simple 1-1-1 plan;

  • Focus on one sin that gets in the way of becoming closer to God
  • Add in one new faith habit, like daily Mass or prayer
  • Give up one thing- Check out the Lifeteen website for some creative ideas (like giving up the elevator/lift, the snooze button or even pillows!) or weird ideas (like leaving post-it notes with positive messages on wherever you go or don’t eat your last bite of food) which will make you holier!
Leave a Reply

